Tags

, , , , , ,

image

As I know that I could be physically sick when I am emotionally stressed. Therefore I seek help as fast as I could. Indeed talking to my parents (thank goodness they know me well so they didn’t freak out and they care to what happened to me). I still have friends that supported me and give positive influence that I could recover. I still have my medicine, Prayer and Quran. That helps my soul because I know that someone or something bigger than me knows that I am suffering and it gives me hope that it will be good in the end.

Anyways, what is this emotional crying about?

I learned about endocrinology so I know a bit about emotion and its relation to hormone.

There are different type of tears. two of them are more like reflexes:

“First type is basal tears are omnipresent in our eyes. These constant tears are what keep our eyes from drying out completely. The human body produces an average of 5 to 10 ounces of basal tears each day. They drain through the nasal cavity, which is the reason so many of us develop runny noses after a good sobfest.

The second type is reflex tears, which serve to protect the human eye from harsh irritants such as smoke, onions or even a very strong, dusty wind. To accomplish this feat, the sensory nerves in your cornea communicate this irritation to your brain stem, which in turn sends hormones to the glands in the eyelids. These hormones cause the eyes to produce tears, effectively ridding them of the irritating substance.

he third type of tears is emotional tears. It all starts in the cerebrum where sadness is registered. The endocrine is then triggered to release hormones to the ocular area, which then causes tears to form.First is a protein called prolactin, which is also known to control breast milk production. Adrenocorticotropic hormones are also common and indicate high stress levels. The other chemical found in emotional tears is leucine-enkephalin, an endorphin that reduces pain and works to improve mood.” (sorry, my sources are from howstuffworks, I dont have my textbook with me lol. But I think thats kinda similar).

I could not contain my feeling last week, so I went to a stair somewhere far from my office during lunch break and cried. I broke down that day, since I completely realize that I made a wrong decision. (It was the best decision at the given moment so that was the best that I could do). I called my parents and just cried. I told them that I made mistakes in my decisions. By crying, I am psychologically admit that I did mistake, I also communicate ‘please help me’ signal, and it gives my body its natural antidepressant.

In today session, the psychologist commented that its good for me to laugh, and told me not to let anyone take it from me. My, she forgot I broke down and cried last week. I still do sometime. I still have reasons to laugh.  I laugh at myself. I think that is a good thing when I can make fun of myself. Otherwise I would be stresses and then got sick. Which isn’t help me. I need to fix things up. It is one of the thing that my dad taught me. “If shit happens, laugh at yourself. Don’t get panicked”. Well physiologically, laughing will force (maybe) the endorphine system to produce some hormone in human body therefore when I laugh, whether I do it voluntarily or not, I will feel better afterward. (Endorphines is also triggered by chocolates lol)

“Laughter and humor can be a tonic for the brain, as well. Triggering the brain’s emotional and reward centers spurs the release of dopamine, helping the brain to process emotional responses and enhancing our experience of pleasure; of serotonin, to buoy our mood; and of endorphins, to regulate our pain and stress and to induce euphoria (Humor, Laughter, and Those Aha Moments. The harvard mahoney neuroscience institute letter spring 2010)”

Laugh and cry, if you laugh too much you will start crying. If you cry, hmm.. you wouldn’t start laughing… but I find it helpful sometime just to let it happen. Its better for me to cry when I feel sad, then after I let the emotion go I could laugh at myself from doing whatever stupid thing I did. Learn from it. Then build resilient resistant muscle from doing fails in life like Michelle Obama said.

On some days, I felt like a kid, every single time. A kid might fall when they start walking, but they never give up until they can. I will do the same, for life. Never regret. Learn and keep moving on.

 

Ahaha, I am glad my cognitive neuroscience class and endocrine class can actually help me understand myself in real life.

(Hoooo Its pretty difficult to keep up with one day one post during Ramadan aaaa)

 

 

 

Esch, 6/16/2016

Ramadan day 11 (oh noes I am lacking of 6 blog posts)

http://science.howstuffworks.com/life/inside-the-mind/emotions/crying1.htm

Humor, Laughter, and Those Aha Moments. The harvard mahoney neuroscience institute letter spring 2010) https://hms.harvard.edu/sites/default/files/HMS_OTB_Spring10_Vol16_No2.pdf

