Tags

, , ,

Music is a part of being human

Oliver Sachs – Musicophilia-

I have always believe that music could somehow affect human’s emotion. There must be a neural pathway that linked between those two. Oliver Sachs, a neurologist with a passion of music support this view by wrote “Music, uniquely among the arts, is both completely abstract and profoundly emotional. It has no power to represent anything particular or external, but it has a unique power to express inner states or feelings. Music can pierce the heart directly; it needs no mediation.” in his Musicophilia book.

Japanese songs has always been my object of fascination. It started with anime, of course, the Japanese culture has slowly crept inside my soul and captured it. The first time I heard and fascinated by Japanese songs was during my elementary school period. Obviously, I did not speak a single Japanese word, yet it still fascinated me. I still remember those songs, Rouruni Kenshin’s soundtrack, I can sing it because I remembered it by heart.

Utada Hikaru was one of the first Japanese singer that I like. Her songs accompanying me growing up. Her “First Love” song was my first love soundtrack. Indeed, I associated that song with my first love. Her songs accompanied me through middle school’s exam, and most probably up to my high school days. My first Japanese vocabularies might have come from her songs as well. Though at that time, I am pretty sure I didn’t know what I sang unless I saw the lyric’s translation (lol). Nevertheless, she has a special place in my heart.

Music has been a crucial part in Utada Hikaru, or Hikki, as her fans called. She literally raised with it and its in her blood. Her late mother was an enka singer and her father is a producer ( I think, if I am not mistaken). She has been writing songs since 13 and making hits after that. What I really like from her songs are her voice and composition. She didn’t sing like the most Japanese girl singer do, with a nasal-high-picthed-voice,which considered cute but quite annoying to my ear. Plus it sounds so fake for me. Why would a girl fake their voice to be considered cute, doesn’t make sense to me. While Utada, being her, strive through the mainstream and be herself. She sing like a normal girl would, but with more accurate pitch and so on (I am sorry, I am tone-deaf). She also composed her own songs which makes her have the freedom to infuse her songs with meanings. I just love that idea. Something that comes from the heart, reach another heart. As fan, of course I have super limited knowledge about her but at least that is what I see from her. I felt content just by enjoying her songs and let her works inspire my days.

